District Planning

1. Bidhayak Elaka Unnayan Prakalpa (BEUP)

Bidhayak Elaka Unnayan Prakalpa (BEUP) was introduced during the 12th assembly in the financial year 2000-2001. Each MLA is entitled to recommend schemes for Rs 50 lakhs for each financial year. This fund is to enable the MLAs to formulate developmental schemes for the constituencies as per the locally felt needs with emphasis on creation of durable assets for community benefits and service support system in conformity with the comprehensive area development and socio-economic development plans of the District/ Municipal Corporations under the District Plan by the District planning Committee.

BEUP scheme generally cover the following sectors:

  1. Minor Irrigation

  2. Embankment Protection

  3. Construction of roads and bridges (including Guard Walls)

  4. Drinking Water facilities

  5. Health Improvement

  6. Education (Primary, Secondary, Higher Secondary etc.)

  7. Rural Electrification

2. Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS)

The Members of Parliament Local Area Development Division is entrusted with the responsibility of implementation of Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS). The objective of the scheme is to enable MPs to recommend works of developmental nature with emphasis on the creation of durable assets based on the locally felt needs to be taken up in their constituencies.

Right from inception of the scheme, durable assets of national priorities like drinking water, primary education, public health, sanitation and roads etc. are being created. Under the scheme, each MP has the choice to suggest to the District Collector for works to the tune of Rs 5 crores per annum to be taken up in his/her constituency. The Rajya Sabha Members of Parliament can recommend works in one or more districts in the state from where he/she has been elected.

The nominated members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha may select any one or more districts from any one state in the country for implementation of their choice of work under the scheme.

3. Border Area Development Programme (BADP)

The BADP was formulated to meet the special .developmental needs and well being of the people living in remote and inaccessible areas situated near the international border and to saturate the border areas with the entire essential infrastructure through convergence of Central/ State/ BADP/ local schemes and participatory approach.

The BADP continues to be 100% centrally funded programme. The programme will cover all the villages of 106 border districts of 17 states including West Bengal which are located within 0-10 km of the international border. These villages are identified by Border Guard Forces (BGF). After the saturation of 0-10 km villages, the state government may take up 0-20 km villages and so on up to 0-50 km villages. Aerial distance will also be taken into account in this programme.

4. Economically Weaker Sections (EWS)

Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) is a term used to refer to those citizens or households with income below a certain threshold level. Though there may be other economic factors in deciding on the economic weakness of the citizen/household, income is the dominant criterion. This categorisation as EWS is distinct from other categories like “disadvantaged sections” but include those categorised as BPL.

There is no unique definition for EWS in India. It is defined differently for different schemes run by the Government. Further, state and central governments may set different criteria for deciding on the EWS status. Governments periodically review and re-fix income ceiling levels for Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) to keep it relevant and contemporary. Generally EWS status is confirmed based on the Income certificate issued by a Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tehsildar (Taluk office in-charge), BPL Ration card or Antodya Anna Yojna Ration Card or Food Security Card issued by the state governments.

In some places a legal affidavit is taken for the issue of EWS certificate. The criterion of EWS is evoked while granting benefits under education or housing. The scheme GITANJALI encompass the EWS people who have no pucca house of their own or in the name of any member of the family.

The guidelines of the beneficiaries are:

Poor people in rural and urban areas.

Poor people in erosion/flood/other calamity affected/disaster prone areas.

Poor people affected by government projects.

People having family income less than or equal to Rs 6000 per month.

Department of Planning, Govt of West Bengal